2014: The Gratitude Project

Through expat life I realised that no matter how far you travel you take take your ‘weather with you’ as the song says. There is no escape from ourselves no matter how much reinvention we have access to as constant travellers on the face of the earth. For those of us with depression this is a hard, hard but vital lesson. We have to turn and face ourselves and find a way to live together; us and our depression.

Through depression I came to yoga.

Through yoga I came to the concept of mindfulness.

At the end of 2013 (an amazing year for travel incidently) this is where I find myself. Not only that but the certainty of three more years here in Brussels, albeit in a new chapter. This gives me stability, the lack of which I’ve realised belatedly is often what makes expat life so scary, lonely, particularly for the ‘trailers’ in an expat couple.

There is more and more research that says gratitude leads to happier, more fulfilled individuals who suffer less depression, anxiety and stress. This is particularly true for the self-critical amongst us.

With this in mind I’ve decided to try and find three things a day to be grateful for. I’ve been sceptical about daily projects in the past but I’m curious to see how it goes. Follow along on Twitter.

“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.” – Thornton Wilder

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Making time for gratitude « Wife School

    • Thanks Jenny. A photo a day is a great approach to gratitude, I think you’ll have fun with it. My experience with something similar in 2012 literally helped open my eyes to the place I was living in and the people around me. I hadn’t expected it to be quite so profound. I hope you have a similar experience. Can’t wait to see all your photos!

  2. I love this idea – I’m doing one myself this year – I have a jar & I’ll fill it with one thing that made me happy that day, and open them at the end of the year. What a great concept (but, the great question is as ever will it get completed.

    • Thanks Emma. Good luck with your challenge. I did a photo a day one in 2012 and it was really cool to look back on at the end of the year, you forget so much 😀

    • Thanks so much Vital Mommy – the movement seems to be spreading. I’ve seen lots of ‘gratitude jars’ being started for 2014 too. Have a fabulous year!

What do you think?

